Barbara Gris

Photo

Sorbonne Université
Laboratoire Jacques-Louis Lions
Bureau 15-16 305
4 Place Jussieu
75005, Paris

bantispam.comgris.mathsplanque.com gmail.com


Bienvenue sur ma page personnelle !

Je suis actuellement chercheuse contractuelle au Laboratoire Jacques-Louis Lions; Sorbonne Universités (Pierre-et-Marie-Curie), Paris. Je m'intéresse à l'analyse de formes et au traitement d'images, plus particulièrement aux modèles de grandes déformations et leurs applications à l'anatomie computationnelle.
Voici un CV détaillé et mon profil ResearchGate.

Thèse
Modular approach on shape spaces, sub-Riemannian geometry and computational anatomy
ENS Cachan (2016), sous les directions de S. Durrleman et A. Trouvé.

Publications
Incorporation of a deformation prior in image reconstruction (2018).

Cet article présente une méthode pour incorporer un a priori de déformation dans la reconstruction d'image, via le formalisme des modules de déformation. Le cade des modules de déformations permet de construire des déformations difféomorphométriques qui satisfont une certaine structure. L'idée est d'apparier une image template à une observation indirecte de données avec une déformation modulaire, incorporant ainsi l'a priori de déformation dans la méthode de reconstruction. Nous montrons que c'est une méthode de régularisation bien définie (avec existence, stabilité et convergence) et présentons des exemples numériques de reconstruction à partir de simulations 2D de données de tomographie ainsi que d'images partiellement observées.


Image reconstruction through metamorphosis , avec O. Öktem et C. Chen (2018).

Cet article adapte le cadre des métamorphoses à la résolution de problème inverse avec a priori de forme. Le cadre des métamorphoses permet de transformer une image part un équilibre entre les déformations géométriques et les changements d'intensité (qui peuvent par exemple correspondre à l'apparence de nouvelles structures). L'idée développée ici est de reconstruire une image à partir d'observations indirectes et bruitée en appariant, par métamorphoses, un template aux données observées. Contrairement à un appariement avec seulement des changements géométriques, ce cadre donne de bons résultats lorsque les intensités du template sont mal choisies. Nous montrons que cette méthode est une méthode de régularisation bien définie (avec existence, stabilité et convergence des solutions) et présentons plus exemples numériques.


A sub-Riemannian modular framework for diffeomorphism based analysis of shape ensembles, avec S. Durrleman et A. Trouvé, SIAM Journal of Imaging Sciences, 10.1137/16M1076733 (2018).

Les difféomorphimes jouent un rôle important dans l'analyse statistique de formes, permettant de mesurer et d'interpréter les différences entre des objets similaires. Ils sont généralement obtenus par l'intégration d'un flot de champs de vecteurs réguliers, dont les paramètres ne permettent pas actuellement de contrôler le comportement local de la déformation. Dans cet article nous proposons un nouveau cadre mathématique et computationnel dans lequel les difféomorphismes sont construits par combinaison de modules de déformation locaux possédant un faible nombre de degrés de liberté. Ces modules de déformation contribuent au champs de vecteurs global et interagissent entre eux lors de l'intégration de la trajectoire de difféomorphismes de sorte que les modules locaux sont transportés par la déformation difféomorphique globale. Ces difféomorphismes modulaires permettent de déformer des formes et d'équiper l'espace de formes d'une métrique sous-Riemannienne. Nous montrons que cette approche apporte de nouvelles solutions dans les domaines de vision par ordinateur et d'imagerie médicale. Par exemple il est possible d'optimiser simultanément les déformations linéaires et non linéaires nécessaires pour transporter une forme sur une autre. Il devient également facile d'incorporer des a priori dans le modèle de déformation. L'approche que nous proposons généralise certaines méthodes précédentes pour construire des difféomorphismes et ouvre de nouvelles perspectives dans le domaine de l'analyse statistique de formes.


A sub-Riemannian modular approach for diffeomorphic deformations, avec S. Durrleman et A. Trouvé, article de conférence.
J'ai présenté ce travail (vidéo de la présentation) lors de la conférence "Geometric Science of Information" (2015).

Bourse

En novembre 2017 j'ai obtenu une bourse CNRS-Momentum pour mon projet intitulé "Une approche morphométrique sous contrainte pour étudier l'évolution d'organismes vivants".

Enseignement
De 2013 à 2016 j'ai enseigné à l'ENS Cachan :

Barbara Gris

Photo

Sorbonne Université
Laboratoire Jacques-Louis Lions
Room 15-16 305
4 Place Jussieu
75005, Paris

bantispam.comgris.mathsplanque.com gmail.com


Welcome to my web page !

I am currently a contract researcher at the Laboratoire Jacques-Louis Lions; Sorbonne University (Pierre-et-Marie-Curie), Paris. I am interested in shape analysis and image processing, more particularly in models for large deformations and their applications to computational anatomy.
Here are a detailed CV and my ResearchGate profile.

Thesis
Modular approach on shape spaces, sub-Riemannian geometry and computational anatomy
ENS Cachan (2016), under the supervisions of S. Durrleman and A. Trouvé.

Publications
Incorporation of a deformation prior in image reconstruction (2018).

This article presents a method to incorporate a deformation prior in image recon- struction via the formalism of deformation modules. The framework of deformation modules allows to build diffeomorphic deformations that satisfy a given structure. The idea is to register a template image against the indirectly observed data via a mod- ular deformation, incorporating this way the deformation prior in the reconstruction method. We show that this is a well-defined regularization method (proving existence, stability and convergence) and present numerical examples of reconstruction from 2-D tomographic simulations and partially-observed images.


Image reconstruction through metamorphosis , with O. Öktem and C. Chen (2018).

This article adapts the framework of metamorphosis to the resolution of inverse problems with shape prior. The metamorphosis frame- work allows to transform an image via a balance between geometrical deformations and changes in intensities (that can for instance correspond to the appearance of a new structure). The idea developed here is to reconstruct an image from noisy and indirect observations by registering, via metamorphosis, a template to the observed data. Unlike a registration with only geometrical changes, this framework gives good results when intensities of the template are poorly chosen. We show that this method is a well-defined regularization method (proving existence, stability and convergence) and present several numerical examples.


A sub-Riemannian modular framework for diffeomorphism based analysis of shape ensembles, with S. Durrleman and A. Trouvé, SIAM Journal of Imaging Sciences, 10.1137/16M1076733 (2018).

Deformations, and diffeormophisms in particular, have played a tremendous role in the field of statistical shape analysis, as a proxy to measure and interpret differences between similar objects but with different shapes. Diffeomorphisms usually result from the integration of a flow of regular velocity fields, whose parameters have not enabled so far a full control of the local behaviour of the deformation. In this work, we propose a new mathematical and computational framework, in which diffeomorphisms are built on the combination of local deformation modules with few degrees of freedom. Deformation modules contribute to a global velocity field, and interact with it during integration so that the local modules are transported by the global diffeomorphic deformation under construction. Such modular diffeomorphisms are used to deform shapes and to provide the shape space with a sub-Riemannian metric. We then derive a method to estimate a Fréchet mean from a series of observations, and to decompose the variations in shape observed in the training samples into a set of elementary deformation modules encoding distinctive and interpretable aspects of the shape variability. We show how this approach brings new solutions to long lasting problems in the fields of computer vision and medical image analysis. For instance, the easy implementation of priors in the type of deformations offers a direct control to favor one solution over another in situations where multiple solutions may fit the observations equally well. It allows also the joint optimisation of a linear and a non-linear deformation between shapes, the linear transform simply being a particular type of modules. The proposed approach generalizes previous methods for constructing diffeomorphisms and opens up new perspectives in the field of statistical shape analysis.


A sub-Riemannian modular approach for diffeomorphic deformations, with S. Durrleman and A. Trouvé, conference paper.
I presented this work (video of the presentation) at the Conference on Geometric Science of Information (2015).

Grant

In November 2017 I received a CNRS-Momentum grant for a project named "A constrained morphometric approach to study the evolution of living organisms".

Teaching
From 2013 to 2016 I taught :